Kline edges to photo finish win, Mannion holds onto yellow

Rose dominates downtown Bend criterium

Shane Kline (Rally) edged out Miguel Bryon (Holowesko) in a photo finish in downtown Bend Saturday to earn the first UCI win of his career. Last year’s winner, Joe Lewis (Holowesko) crossed the line in third.

“First UCI win so I’ll take it,” Shane Kline said. “We had the plan for me to sprint coming into the race. It’s kind of new because I’ve spent a lot of the year sprinting for guys like Eric Young and Brad (Huff). I’m normally their last guy so for me to have a shot tonight was huge, I really thank the team for that.”

An 18-rider break was established midway through the 75-minute race, that included both Taylor Shelden (Jelly Belly) and Greg Henderson (UHC), competing for the sprinter point’s classification.

The break was given up to a 40-second lead, until Rally Cycling moved to the front of the field, setting pace before reeling the group back in with 7 laps to go. Holowesko|Citadel took over the pace, setting up their lead out for Bryon.

“We got swarmed on the back stretch with one lap to go so I got tied up back there,” Bryon said. “I came out of the last corner a little too far back; the guy’s wheel that I was on dropped his chain and opened up a big gap that I had to come across which is why it came down so close. I’m very disappointed, I was coming with enough speed but I knew I didn’t have enough to distance him so I knew he had it.”

Gavin Mannion (UHC) crossed the line with the field to maintain yellow heading into Sunday’s Awbrey Butte Circuit Race, with Robin Carpenter (Holowesko) one-second back, and Evan Huffman (Rally) looking to gain 3 seconds for the overall. Jefferson Cepeda (Movistar) keeps his lead in the King of the Mountain competition, as does Luis Villalobos (Aevolo) as the Best Young Rider. Taylor Shelden maintains a 3-point lead in the sprint point’s competition ahead of Henderson.

Visit Dallas/ DNA Claire Rose solos to win stage 4 (Photo: VeloImages)

Claire Rose showed why she’s the U.K. national champion time trial champion after soloing to a decisive win in the downtown Bend criterium. The Visit Dallas DNA rider attacked with six laps to go in the 50-minute race and gained a significant gap to easily take the win and take over the green jersey. Kendall Ryan (Team TIBCO) won the bunch sprint for second place and Canadian road champion Ali Beveridge (Rally) finished third.

“There were a lot of attacks by Rally, so when there was a lull I took my opportunity to do a solo attack and I was able to hold it to the finish,” said Rose, who won the Skyliner time trial earlier this week. “When you’re out there on your own you’ve got to focus on giving it everything to the line.”

Allie Dragoo (Twenty20) finished safely in the bunch to keep her yellow jersey going into the final stage, 16 seconds ahead of Sara Poidevin (Rally), who is the best young rider jersey. Dragoo’s teammate, Jasmin Duehring is third, 44 seconds down. The Queen of the Mountains jersey remains on the back of Margot Clyne going into the final stage.

The Awbrey Butte Circuit Race for Stage 5 will begin Sunday at 11:00 am for the men who will be racing 5 laps / 81.6 miles, while the women will race 3 laps / 49.1 miles and start at 11:50 am PDT.

Posted in Latest News.